Jazz

Published January 14, 2012 by PoeticSwag

I was once in love with a Jazz player
And he would serenade me every night.
In the openness of our sleep he let
Sweet melodies make love to me.
In the empty darkness his keys
Caressed my body and his music
Touched my heart. The sweetness
Of his humming lifted my soul.
The light in his eyes with each
Song written shone with excitement.
I proudly smiled and fell in love.

But

One day the Jazz player’s song became
Silent. His enthusiasm faded with burnt
Music sheets on a night stand.
His love for music seemed to die
His love for me vanished
His serenaded symphonies were no longer there.
My heart was never touched again
And my soul remained still.

The keys stopped touching me and
The melodies abandoned my body.
My sorrow consumed me and slowly
I learned why Jazz songs make
People cry.

Leave a comment